Background

It seems like yesterday, but 10 years have already passed since September 17, 2006. StraLugano made its debut that day with 630 athletes and now with the 2016 event attracting over 5000 runners, an amazing dream has come true.

A goal which acts as an incentive and which encourages the entire organising team – headed up once more by Vanni Merzari – to double down and achieve new, even more fantastic goals.

The decision to organise a half marathon in Lugano was new and exciting and was inspired by the need to make StraLugano even more professional and capable of attracting runners both from Switzerland and abroad.

As confirmation of StraLugano’s big heart, we then created a new non-competitive race (alongside the classic 10 km race) so as to involve the whole population and to support associations in the Charity Programme. A 5 km run which is accessible to everybody and which provides the opportunity to go running with friends, to take up a personal challenge or, for companies, to spend a Saturday evening in the company of colleagues.

We are sure you will have a great time!!!

Geschichte

Obwohl es uns wie gestern vorkommt, sind seit dem 17. September 2006 bereits dreizehn Jahre vergangen. An diesem Tag feierte StraLugano mit 630 Athleten ihr Beginn. Die Tatsache, dass im Jahr 2016 bereits über 5000 Läufer/innen teilnahmen, erscheint uns wie ein wahr gewordener Traum.

Dieser Erfolg spornt uns an und das gesamte Organisationsteam, nach wie vor  von Vanni Merzari geleitet, gibt weiterhin sein Bestes, um noch ehrgeizigere Ziele zu erreichen.

Die Entscheidung für einen Halbmarathon in Lugano,kam aus dem Wunsch, aus StraLugano eine noch professionellere Veranstaltung zu machen und Läufer/innen aus der gesamten Schweiz und dem Ausland anzuziehen.

Weil uns Wohltätigkeit wichtig ist, hat Stralugano einen neuen Lauf ausserhalb des Wettkampfes (parallel zur klassischen 10km-Strecke) eingeführt, um allen Interessierten die Möglichkeit zu geben, die Organisationen des Charity-Programms zu unterstützen. Der Charity-Lauf ist 5 km lang und  von den meisten zu bewältigen. Dieser Lauf bietet die Gelegenheit, gemeinsam mit Freunden zu laufen, sich mit anderen zu messen oder –  zum Beispiel für Firmen – einen Samstag gemeinsam zu verbringen.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spass!